The Monthly Read – January 8th

lgn-web-blog-banners-500x100-monthly

Selecting interesting articles, exciting news from the world of comics and pop culture, important editorials, or unique perspective pieces; LGN presents a monthly round up of links to read.

Happy New Year, Ladies! Woo! We are posting this the second Monday this month because we figured none of y’all gon read this on the first Recovery Day of 2018.

This month we have Thor’s postcolonial perspectives, 30 years of Frasier-verse, and can we just let the Stranger Thing’s kids BE kids!

1. “Thor: Ragnarok”: Marvel From a Postcolonial Perspective | The Village Voice
“Ragnarok director Taika Waititi, an auteur of Māori and Russian-Jewish descent, is one of New Zealand’s premier cinematic exporters, although unlike such Caucasian contemporaries as Jane Campion and Peter Jackson, his work bleeds the hues of indigeneity. Whether it’s as direct as a Māori Dennis the Menace–type kid (Julian Dennison) bonding with a reluctant white father (Sam Neill) in Hunt for the Wilderpeople (2016) or as abstract as the outsider experience of Wellington’s long-standing vampire society delineated in What We Do in the Shadows (2014), Waititi’s movies exist at the nexus of native and colonizer cultures, the dichotomy that forms the basis of modern postcolonial theory.”

Taika and his Thor: Ragnarok breaking some visual grounds.

2.  A PADMÉ AMIDALA YOUNG ADULT NOVEL IS COMING IN 2018 | Nerdist
“Star Wars books and comics in the current storytelling universe have explored the backgrounds of a number of characters, major and secondary, but one in particular hasn’t received enough attention: Padmé Amidala Naberrie. The queen, senator, and fighter is an intelligent leader and skilled politician. She deserves more attention, and she’ll be getting that in an upcoming Star Wars young adult novel.”

Another Sci-Fi Qween getting herself a novel. Nice.

3. FX To Develop ‘Welcome To Night Vale’ Podcast For TV; Harper Perennial Orders Two New Books | Deadline
“Welcome to Night Vale, the popular, spooky podcast and book series, is heading to television. FX has struck a development deal with Sony Pictures Television for a Night Vale series. Gennifer Hutchison, currently an Executive Producer of Better Call Saul, will adapt the podcast for television and executive produce the series under her Sony Pictures Television overall deal.

That podcast you like is getting a TV show deal with FX!

4. “CRAZY EX-GIRLFRIEND” EXPOSES THE DOUBLE STANDARDS OF MENTAL ILLNESS | bitch media
“Characters like Bunch are often plumbed for their dramatic potential, serving as the object of the protagonist’s erotic obsession before being discarded for a presumably more suitable romantic partner. However, in Crazy Ex-Girlfriend, the villainous mentally ill woman serves as neither warning nor sex symbol.”

Despite the title name, “Crazy Ex-Girlfriend” is entirely not what you think the show is about so page your musical aligned friends because its a grand show.

5. Mindhunter Is a Surprisingly Good Commentary on Toxic Masculinity | Vulture
“When I first started watching Netflix’s moody new series, Mindhunter — which adapts the true-crime novel of the same name by John E. Douglas and Mark Olshaker — I worried it would be undercut by such issues. I expected an intense, albeit emotionally detached, series that would leave little impact. But Mindhunter enthralled me. By episode three, I was hooked, finding its icy atmosphere and careful consideration of the minute details that come with such investigative work a fascinating way to deflate the mythology that film and TV often continues about serial killers. Most important, Mindhunter proves to be a deft and visceral excavation of the ways misogyny and toxic masculinity festers.”

Calling all the crime junkies out there, have you seen Mindhunter on Netflix yet?

6. We’re Listening: Exploring Frasierverse, an Incredible Internet Rabbit Hole of Fictional Spinoffs | The Ringer
“A little less than two years later, though, a teenage Frasier fan took it upon himself to do what Casey and his writing partner (and fellow Frasier cocreator) David Lee didn’t. While bingeing Frasier Seasons 3 and 4 during a vacation, the teen, who went by “Paul B” on the now-defunct forum Frasier Online (lifetime Paul B posts: 7,281), conceived of a spinoff centered on his favorite Frasier character, Roz Doyle, Frasier’s faithful friend and radio producer. In Frasier’s series finale, Roz (played by Peri Gilpin) was promoted to station manager of Seattle talk-radio station KACL, where Frasier had hosted a show. Paul B’s proposed pilot for Roz, which he pitched in a Frasier Online thread on May 9, 2006, picked up from there.”

So, you thought you were a superfan. Pishaw! Check out the seemingly never ending archive of Frasier and Fraiser spin off set ups.

7. Scripted Wolverine podcast ‘The Long Night’ is Marvel’s next phase | Mashable
“Wolverine has explored plenty of territory in his 43-year history at Marvel — from comics to computer games, big screen to small — but come 2018, he’ll venture into a whole new frontier: his own podcast.

Mashable can exclusively reveal that the beloved X-Men character will headline Marvel’s first-ever scripted podcast, Wolverine: The Long Night, a 10-episode serialized story that will debut exclusively on podcast network Stitcher Premium in Spring 2018 as part of a partnership between Marvel and Stitcher, before rolling out across all other podcast platforms in the fall.”

The Hobbit star Richard Armitage to voice Logan! Nice. Exclusive to one podcast network? Boo.

8. True Detective creator accused of plagiarism, in this cruel universe where everything is stolen | AVClub
“Picking through the dense literary allusions in True Detective became its own ongoing investigation during the HBO drama’s first season, but for fans of writer Thomas Ligotti, that investigation has turned downright criminal. Jon Padgett, founder of Thomas Ligotti Online, has collaborated with The Lovecraft eZine editor Mike Davis on an article that accuses show creator Nic Pizzolatto of not merely paying homage to Ligotti and other writers, but outright plagiarizing their words and ideas.”

A case of weird plagiarism in pop culture, an especially interesting read for fans of True Detective and Sci-Fi books.

9. Comics Person of the Year 2017: Jay Edidin | CB
“There were many worthy contenders this year, some of whom we comment upon later in this article as persons of note. However, after multiple discussions, the answer was clear. This person not only made an impact on the comics industry, but consistently set an example for how to positively influence, change, and strengthen the world of comics throughout 2017. That’s why the 2017 comics person of the year had to be: Jay Edidin.”

Woo WOO!

 

10. 5 REASONS TO GIVE MARVEL’S AGENTS OF S.H.I.E.L.D. ANOTHER SHOT | Rotten Tomatoes
“Over the subsequent seasons, the characters charmed a dedicated group of fans who remained loyal in the face of long hiatuses and shifting schedules. Unfortunately, the appreciative fans (and a 95% on the Tomatometer) never turned the series into a ratings winner for ABC, In fact, the current season exists only because of a reported request by high-level Disney executives. Nonetheless, it is definitely a show worth watching, particularly if you walked away before.”

Still my favourite comic book tv show. #CoulsonLives

11. Matilda Actress Mara Wilson: A 13-Year-Old Girl Is Not “All Grown Up” | Elle
“Like everyone, I watched Stranger Things. Like everyone, I was impressed with the child actors. Many tend either to go too big and melodramatic with their acting choices, or too far in the other direction, becoming over-rehearsed, wooden, and recitative. It’s rare to find child actors who are able to give nuanced emotional performances. What was remarkable about these kids was their innocence: They seemed real and genuine, like actual kids. There wasn’t anything affected or pretentious about them or their performances. Millie Bobby Brown, as Eleven, especially stood out.”

And…

why can’t we let the “stranger things” kids be kids? | Vice i-D
“Part of Stranger Things’s appeal is that its stars are very young. This makes it all the more impressive when Millie Bobby Brown (14) destroys Nicki Minaj’s “Monster” rap verse, Finn Wolfhard (14) nails a cover of New Order’s “Age of Consent,” or Noah Schnapp (then just 12) addresses stereotyping of LGBTQ characters. It also makes it totally uncool for fans to demand anything other than that the actors show up to work, as Wolfhard is now kindly reminding us. (Wolfhard himself recently sent the fandom into a furor, after he failed to take a selfie with an adult fan who waited outside his hotel.)”

Let the Stranger Things kids be kids. Protect them!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s